Dyno Duty Revealing After Mopar CSBK National Q Session at St-Eustache

The Official Series Dynojet Dyno for the Mopar CSBK Nationals revealed an interesting pattern after Saturday qualifying for round two at Autodrome St-Eustache.  At a tight and twisty venue where traction and Traction Control are key, the top teams do not pursue outright performance, as defined by the maximum limit of 200 horsepower as registered post session on the Brooklin Cycle Racing run Official Dynojet Dyno.

The top two factory competitors in the series did not, in fact, have the most horsepower at their disposal during the two Q sessions.

Points leader and fastest qualifier Jordan Szoke’s Express Lane Motovan BMW S1000RR registered 174.20 horsepower, while the second quickest Accelerated Technology Blue Streak Racing Honda CBR1000RR SP of reigning Champ Jodi Christie registered 174.48 – amazingly close for two different 2015 models.

While Christie’s machine put out the most horsepower of the traditional top two by an incremental margin, his bike was meaningfully lighter – the Honda weighed in immediately post session at 390 pounds, while the BMW crossed the scales at 398 pounds.  The session ended slightly earlier than scheduled when Kenny Riedmann crashed, uninjured, in the south end Carousel – so both bikes would probably be slightly lighter with three laps less fuel on board.  

Third best lap in Qualifying belonged to impressive local privateer Sebastien Tremblay on his MotoNation Crossfit Laval Kawasaki ZX-10R.  Tremblay’s Ninja put out the most power of the front runners, with an official Dynojet reading at 178.26 horsepower. The Kawasaki also weighed in at a useful 380 pounds.

Tremblay was third behind Szoke and Christie at the Mopar CSBK National round at Autodrome St-Eustache last year, and currently holds third in overall National Pro series points behind the same two factory pilots.  Rain is expected for tomorrow afternoon’s race at the 51-year-old venue, currently owned by former top North American motorcycle competitor and Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame inductee Alan Labrosse.