Vintage Road Racing Association, Pro 6 GP Race Series and CSBK Confirm Calabogie Vintage Entry

The upcoming opening event in the 2021 CSBK National tour and Pro 6 GP race Series at Calabogie Motorsports Park will feature a strong Vintage entry in the classic racer event scheduled for July 10 and 11.  The Vintage Road Racing Association, founded in 1980, first competed at Calabogie in an invitational event with the opening CSBK National of 2015.

The Vintage final will feature machines from four categories in the V.R.R.A., including the recently adopted Period 5 class for race bikes utilized in the late 1990s.  The period 5 entry includes Ducati pilot Jean-Marc Bilger, a recent Pro Podium performer in Liqui Moly Pro Sport Bike at Atlantic Motorsport Park in Nova Scotia.  Bilger’s chief rival is likely to be former Pro 250 Grand Prix National front runner Darrell “Boom Boom” Cooney aboard his recently completed Suzuki boattail SRAD GSX-R600.

The strong Period 4 grid will offer a wide range of bikes that featured in the late 1980s, including 2015 Calabogie pole sitter Neil Graham, the writer and film maker aboard a racer red Ducati 888 Desmo.       Former V.R.R.A. number one plate holder and Vintage star Daniel Rinfret is also very quick on his Honda GT650 middle-weight twin.

In Period 4, the rider to watch is Tim Ruhl, a star Amateur in the 1980s who had an impressive career in the WERA National Endurance Tour in the U.S.A. during the 1990s.  Ruhl pilots a big Suzuki Katana, one of the definitive machines of the air-cooled, twin shock early era of Pro Superbike competition.   

Purpose-built racer bikes feature in the Grand prix class, where the trick yellow meanie Yamaha TZ250 two-stroke twin of Rob Massicotte is expected to set the pace.  All four classes of Vintage machinery will race together on Sunday afternoon at Calabogie and compete at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park east of Oshawa, ON, in the annual Vintage classic, August 6-8.  

2021 Calabogie Motorsports Park National V.R.R.A. Vintage Invitational – July 10 & 11

Name Home Bike Division
Period 5
53 Jean-Marc Bilger Laval, QC Ducati 748 Desmo F2
99 Darrell Cooney Guelph, ON Suzuki GSX-R600 F2
221 David Laporte Sudbury, ON Kawasaki ZX-7 Ninja F1
717 Tommy Paquette Sainte-Sophie, QC Honda CBR600F3 F2
Period 4
27 Daniel Rinfret Montreal, QC Honda GT650 Hawk F3
28 Jonathan Vaillancourt Boisbriand, QC Yamaha FZR400 F3
44 Neil Graham Blue Mountain, ON Ducati 888 Desmo F1
129 Glenn Holdbrook Mississauga, ON Kawasaki ZX-7 Ninja F1
152 Bruce McTavish Kinburn, ON Suzuki GSX-R750 F1
174 Ravo Lainevool Dundas, ON Honda GT650 Hawk F3
252 Kirby Crosby Norwood, ON Yamaha FZR600 F2
333 Joe Stuart Courtice, ON Yamaha FZR600 F2
371 David Cote Longueil, QC Honda GT650 Hawk F3
590 Colin Duncan Brighton, ON Ducati 900SS F1
Period 3
241 Tim Ruhl Hillsburg, ON Suzuki GS1100 Katana Heavyweight
357 Laurent Laliberte-Girard St-Colomban, QC Kawasaki GPz550 Lightweight
825 Mark McCoy Cambridge, ON Suzuki GS1100E Heavyweight
Grand Prix Two-Stroke
51 John Steinke Cambridge, ON Yamaha TZ250 Middleweight
91 Rob Massicotte Keswick, ON Yamaha TZ250 Middleweight
381 Lee Racicot Nepean, ON Honda RS250 Middleweight