Turcotte Performance named 2019 CSBK Team of the Year

The 2019 Team of the Year award for the Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship was officially announced on Wednesday, with the Turcotte Performance Team taking home the hardware in their first full season of commitment.

Based out of Sainte-Marceline-de-Kildare, Quebec – just over an hour north of Montreal – the team fielded five fully-supported riders over the course of the 2019 campaign, assisting with six others over the course of the season as well. 

At the front of that eleven-rider initiative was Mopar Pro Superbike race winner Samuel Trepanier, who rides under the Blysk Racing/Gulf BMW tent but received extensive support from Turcotte Performance and its owner, Francis Turcotte, over the season. 

Trepanier finished third in the Pro Superbike standings, but was far from the only successfully rider within the Turcotte program. Headlining their fully supported rider group was Liqui Moly Pro Sport Bike rider Sebastien Tremblay, who overcame a string of controversial setbacks early in the year to finish third in the Pro Sport Bike standings and score a pair of top-eight performances in the Superbike category at CTMP.

Tremblay’s Pro teammates, Nicolas Meunier and Vincent Levillain, also enjoyed terrific campaigns in the Pro Sport Bike class, finishing fifth and tenth in the season standings, respectfully. Meunier was also the recipient of the 2019 Brooklin Cycle Racing Pro Rookie of the Year award, as the 17-year old phenom finished tenth in the Pro Superbike standings aboard a smaller Kawasaki ZX-6R machine. 

Turcotte Performance’s impact also stretched to the top of the Amateur categories, with championship victories in both Express Lane Amateur Superbike and Parts Canada Amateur Sport Bike. 

Guillaume Fortin, riding a Kawasaki ZX-10R, won one race and scored three podiums en route to claiming the Superbike championship, narrowly holding off teammate Christian Allard, who also won the Sport Bike category with three victories and five podiums aboard his ZX-6R machine. 

In addition to Trepanier and their five full-support riders, Turcotte Performance also represented Pro riders Alex Coelho and Samuel Desmarais in 2019, as well as Amateur riders Samuel Guerin, Alex Cleary, and Maxime Moldvar, among others. 

Turcotte Performance will take over for 2018 award winner Scot-Build/Ben Young Racing, who was a strong candidate to win the award for a second consecutive season after Young captured his first Pro Superbike championship aboard the Liqui Moly BMW.